Darling Castle

IMG_4340 This is our precious granddaughter, Princess Kyera, in her castle, Darling Castle.  We had the typical storage area under our stairs leading into our basement.  When we heard that we were going to be grandparents for the first time, we decided that we needed to create a playhouse for the grandkids to play in, and the space under the stairs was the perfect place for it.

IMG_4455 We had a small door and window put in and had them trimmed out with trim that resembled the tops of a castles turrets.

 IMG_4454

My son and I wallpapered the walls with wallpaper that looked like stone, inside the castle and outside.  Then we faux finished the base boards and window and door trims to look like stone.  We stained the door with a dark stain and added some metal detail to make it look like a castle door.  We stenciled a sign over the door stating “Darling Castle.”  I made burgundy velvet drapes with gold fringe and furnished the “castle” with small furniture.

IMG_4457 Our granddaughter loves to play in it wearing her princess dresses and serving tea to her Papa.

Published by

renaefrey

My passions in life are family, decor, entertaining, gardening, cooking and eating healthy, and giving back.

3 thoughts on “Darling Castle”

  1. Dear Renae thank you for all of your great tips and recipes. I have a lovely friend that helped me in my time of need a couple of years ago when my couch caught fire and burned some of my pillows (she is a seamstress) she made me some pillows for my couch with cording just like you show. Now I know how to make them with cording as I didn’t know how to do it back then. And also thanks for the Turkey Fry recipe, I’ll have to try making it as well as the Summer Salad before the cold weather starts. Keep up the good work. Gob Bless, Sonya

    Like

Leave a Reply

